Wanderlust Wednesday: Bing Bing Dim Sum

“Where my South Philly peeps at?”


Bing Bing Dim Sum (commonly known as “Bing Bing”), is a Chinese restaurant providing a Jewish spin on dining, located along East Passyunk Avenue in South Philly. Bing Bing is on the smaller side once you walk in, so I would recommend stealing a seat or two at the bar if you go on a Fri/Sat night, otherwise your wait could be about 30 minutes. You shouldn’t have any issues throughout the week. The inside is retro and eclectic, you’ll see their artwork displayed on all walls. I felt very cozy as we dined, and prefer the laid back atmosphere.

If you’re an average restaurant goer, like myself, you might think it’s strange to order another plate of food in the middle of your meal. Not here. Bing Bing thrives from its small plates, commonly shared with those at your table, and the idea that you will be drooling over your next plate before you even finish the first.

The menu wasn’t my favorite the first time I went, but I may have been persuaded to reconsider after my second visit. Disclaimer: I went at the request of someone else, both times.

img_2915

 

Are you a fan of dumplings? Then you’ll love their Pork Soup Dumplings, which you must learn how to eat. Ask your waiter, if they didn’t already sense that you look “new” to the restaurant. They will instruct you to place a single dumpling on a small cradled spoon. Then you must bite the top of the dough, and slurp out the soup inside. Yes, I know, strange to us average restaurant goers. Now you’re ready to eat the rest of the dumpling. And they are delicious.

 

img_2917
Next you have to try the Caterpillar Bread, which is topped with bbq pork, caramelized honey, and sesame seeds. It is an interesting combination of meat and sweet, and if you don’t dig in quickly enough, the bread might start to absorb the honey (I know some people cringe at the idea of soggy bread). End thoughts: I’d definitely order it again.

img_2916

The last dish we tried was the Soy Sauce Pork Noodles – and this was the winning favorite! The dish is served hot and has a mild kick to it, for those of you interested in spicing up your weekend bites. I am a huge lover of all things noodle (lo mein, fettuccine, etc.), and the pork noodles were incredible. There were bites of pork in the noodles; it was a wonderful meaty and spicy version of lo mein. Not to mention, I learned how to use chopsticks with this dish!

 

My thoughts? I’ll be back. Glad I was willing (and somewhat forced) to give this restaurant a second chance.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Leave a Reply

