My Balayage Story

Hairdresser: “It’s so rare that I get to color virgin hair!”
Me: “I’m sorry, what?”

I finally took a leap of faith and colored my hair for the first time ever! Well, besides a temporary at-home dye job at the hands of my best friend in high school (which we don’t talk about).

So I’ve always had this ashy light brown/dark blonde hair. Never truly considered a brunette, never truly considered a blonde. Rather tired of living that in-between life, I wanted to take a chance and see how lighter hair would look on me. I have light skin and blue eyes, so the blonde hair fits, it just took me 23 years to commit to it.

It’s not cheap to get your hair done, and it’s a luxury I don’t normally partake in. I get my eyebrows waxed and will sometimes splurge on a mani/pedi in the summer, but that’s about it for routine pampering. So this was an exciting moment.

I went in for my consultation and my hairdresser was immediately giddy with excitement. She told me she rarely gets virgin hair to work with, and was excited to have scheduled a color job for her Saturday morning, as her day was filled with cuts only. She talked about bringing out the natural highlights in my hair and subtly yet noticeably lighten up my look.

It took 3 1/2 hours. Slowly and precisely she painted the color onto my hair, and I talked and texted and zone out in the meantime. I was patient for about 2 hours and then started to get a migraine. But pain is beauty, right?

img_20170103_105119

The results were STUNNING. I couldn’t believe she had completed such a beautiful and natural transition to my hair. It was exactly what I wanted, and well worth the hype and money I paid for it. It’s been a little over 5 weeks since I’ve had this done, and hasn’t faded from what I can tell.

What I use: Pureology Strength Cure Shampoo and Designline Olive Oil Conditioner. Once I’m out of the shower, I will also apply Designline Enchanted Midnight Weightless Oil to keep my ends healthy and preserve my color. My salon also sold me a toner, but I have yet to need it!

Let me know in the comments below if you’ve had something similar done to your hair! Did it last? Was it worth it? I have to consider whether I want to get it redone in another six months, so any insight is appreciated.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

img_20170103_105704

2 thoughts on “My Balayage Story

Leave a Reply

