Magical Makeup Monday: Birthday Haul

Me to my boyfriend: “Wait.. you actually went into Ulta by yourself?”

img_20170104_125810img_20170104_125837

This is the mother load of all birthday presents known to relationships. I’m not going to drone on about how thoughtful it was for my boyfriend to surprise me with makeup I actually wanted, but I will say this once: he made my birthday his bitch.

So, naturally, I wanted to write about this haul because this is stuff I REALLY wanted to buy myself! I keep this Google doc of makeup I’d like to buy once I have enough cash money to spend (can be seen in Magical Makeup Monday: The Makeup Obsession is Real) and only three people have access to it: myself, my colleague, and my best friend.

I’m assuming the conversation went a little like this:

Bf to best friend: Do you have that list Katrina keeps of makeup she can’t afford to buy just yet?
Best friend: Obviously.
Bf: Could you send that to me and then tell me which stuff to get?
Best friend: Yes but only if you buy me some of the things on the list too.
Bf: Deal.

ANYWAYS, he got his hands on the list and took it to Ulta. BY. HIMSELF. Where I wrote “try travel size,” he ignored and bought full-size. If I wrote two shades of lipstick, he bought four. He even showed the woman taking him around the store a picture of me so she could match my foundation shade. Think it couldn’t get any better? He arranged everything in organizers from the Container Store I’ve had my eyes on for weeks.

img_20170109_175810

img_20170109_175741

Guys… he even went to Target for e.l.f. since Ulta doesn’t carry it.

img_20170109_175844

So let’s jump into this!
Every product mentioned:

Obviously I haven’t used all of this yet, but I did try out a few things I’d like to mention!

First, the Carli Bybel palette is amazing. Love the color-scheme with the mauves, purples, pinks, and highlight colors. I’m no makeup guru when it comes to applying eyeshadows, so I followed Carli’s tutorial on her “go-to” look using the palette. It turned out beautifully, and I used my new e.l.f. crease brush to blend the darker colors.

img_20170109_175924img_20170109_180003

The e.l.f. crease brush is handy! I like that it’s smaller than your average crease brush, though since it is smaller, your color will be more concentrated. It’s great for placement, but I might recommend a fatter crease brush for blending outwards.

img_20170109_180152

The cult-favorite bronzer that is Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer is exactly how they say it is… flawless. It blends out so nicely and is not a harsh brown/orange color. It’s very natural-looking, especially on my lighter skin. Compared to my Ulta bronzer which you can easily overdo, this bronzer proves easy to build and provides a sun kissed glow, which I’ll take in the middle of winter!

img_20170109_180039img_20170109_175422985

I felt a little impartial towards the Essence Pure Nude Highlighter. It didn’t stun me, though it definitely did not disappoint either. I applied it with my Real Techniques small tapered brush, and I felt like it took a couple swipes to see payoff. I’ll be honest, this is the first time I’ve ever used a highlighter *gasp* and didn’t really know what to expect. I will certainly use this again and play around with other brushes.

img_20170109_180101img_20170109_175352187

Lastly, but certainly not least, I tested out the Urban Decay All-Nighter Makeup Setting Spray. My skin is on the oily side, and the bf must know that because he got me the “De-Slick” version without me clarifying that on my Google doc (lol, not complaining). I will need to use this a couple more times to really pay attention to its potential. It’s a light mist, which a girl can appreciate as it’s not really that fun to sit around and fan yourself dry for five minutes. There is not a scent either, just a cooling factor. Will report back if product proves irreplaceable.

img_20170109_184735

So that’s that! An amazing birthday filled with amazing makeup for my night out in the city. I hope my first impressions on some of these items are helpful to some of you looking to try out the same things. Please let me know in the comments below if you’ve purchased the same products and your thoughts on them!

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

3 thoughts on “Magical Makeup Monday: Birthday Haul

Leave a Reply

