Wanderlust Wednesday: Green Eggs Cafe

“I’ve been here five times in the past three months.”

img_20170108_115211818

I have nothing but incredibly complimentary adjectives and words to describe this brunch spot. The first time I went to Green Eggs was in October, and I have been back FOUR TIMES since then. It’s cash only, but I’m not mad about it. I think for awhile I had tried every specialty French toast they offered. Most recently, I opted for the savory side of dishes, and tried the Cajun Crab Mac & Cheese. Life changing. I know I’m a bit overdramatic when it comes to good-tasting food, but I have to be. This place is worth the hype, and the wait, whether it’s raining or a blizzard outside.

I really have not had one bad dish from this café, and neither have any of the people I’ve dragged there. The standard French toast options they offer on a daily basis are solid choices, and then the seasonal French toast specials are even better. I’ve had the Pumpkin Cheesecake Stuffed French toast, Salted Caramel Banana Stuffed French Toast, and Crème Brule French Toast. The café is BYOB, but they will serve you a mean specialty latte, which they feature consistently on their specialty menu.

untitled20

 

 

 

This time I tried the Cajun Crab Mac & Cheese. Imagine cavatappi pasta drowning in cajuny creamy cheeses with a topping of crab meat.

 

 

 

 

 

untitled22.png

 

 

 

My boyfriend had a specialty sandwich which featured sliced steak with a chipotle cheese mayo topped with onions and peppers.

 

 

 

 

untitled21.png

 

 

 

My colleague had a specialty hash with a combination of diced potatoes, cheese, pork roll, and eggs sunny-side up, with a drizzle of ketchup to top it off.

 

 

 

 

There are three locations of Green Eggs Café in the city of Philadelphia: South Philly (1306 Dickinson St.), Northern Liberties (719 North 2nd St.), and Midtown Village (1301 Locust St). I have been to the South Philly and Northern Liberties locations, both phenomenal. Each time I’ve gone in South Philly, I haven’t bothered waiting for a table and grab a couple seats at their breakfast bar. This saves a lot of time, as the wait for Green Eggs can sometimes be 30-45 minutes – but that’s because it’s a popular spot. In South Philly, there is space to wait inside, whereas in Northern Liberties, you’re stuck out in the elements. Not bad on a sunny afternoon in May, semi-miserable during a blizzard in January. I will say, they are generally pretty quick at turning over tables, as we are usually in and out in about an hour, sometimes even 45 minutes!

Overall, definitely a place worth trying. I mean, I can’t talk it up enough, and it is my favorite location for brunch on the weekends in the city.

Let me know if you have a favorite brunch spot that has a Philly location. Now that I’m obsessed with all things brunch, I’d love to try new places!

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Leave a Reply

