Wanderlust Wednesday: Pub on Passyunk East (POPE)

“That cheeseburger though…”

This week’s wanderlust feature centers around The Pub on Passyunk East! Located at 1501 E. Passyunk Avenue, this pub is a must-visit on your list. If you haven’t gathered by now, I moved to South Philly about five months ago. Alas, my blog is accompanied by Philadelphia food articles, which I’m sure many of you can appreciate.

When it comes to exquisite pub food, I am all ears… and also hungry. I’m talking big burgers, crispy fries, homemade dipping sauce, and great brews on tap. I have been to the Pope three times, and have had the burger twice and the Reuben once. I’ve also watched three of my friends down the Reuben and have no problem doing so. This is a place you will clean your plate, even after eating an order of nachos or fries as an appetizer.

The Pope Burger is juicy and topped with melted cheddar cheese, grilled red onions, and basil mayo. O.M.G. Then the Reuben is loaded with corned beef, sauerkraut, and Russian dressing. You can’t miss when you order either of these items, and you won’t walk away hungry!

The feel inside the Pope is very casual, as you seat yourself anywhere you can find a table and a server will be right with you. I’d actually like to pause and really address the wait staff at this place: SO FRIENDLY. I have never met kinder servers. They answer every question, are super patient with you, and even clued me in on their fry dipping sauce (which I’m obsessed with).

I would also describe the interior as rustic-looking. With brick walls and an old-timey wooden bar, the atmosphere just screams pub, in the best way. Speaking of the bar, I haven’t been to the Pope yet on a weekend night to drink, just for dinner, so I’d be curious as to what that atmosphere turns into as well. Each time I was there I tried a cider on tap, and I wasn’t disappointed. I should also mention their happy hour during the week ends at 6pm, so if you can get there beforehand, your drafts are ½ price.

To end on a foodie note, you need to go and try that burger, and the Reuben, and the nachos, and the Chesapeake fries. Everything is cooked to perfection and will curb any hunger. The staff are friendly, the atmosphere casual, and the food is bangin. Definitely worth stopping by the next time you’re in the area. To end this note, I’m just gonna leave a picture of the Reuben here.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Leave a Reply

