Fancy Friday: Building a Vanity

“Now I feel as glamorous as some of the YouTubers I watch.”

img_20170115_172439

I finally did it! I have a makeup vanity I have been wanting to put together for months. And alas, here we are. It feels… incredible. The Container Store storage is an organizer’s dream, and a mounted shelf/drawers make for a stunning display of makeup.

For about a year now, I have been obsessed with everything beauty. I started collecting more brushes, trying out new products, and almost became a platinum member at Ulta (lol). With this experimentation comes an excess of belongings and a need for new space. I had been keeping everything on a tiny bookcase from my college dorm, and was long overdue for an upgrade.

So, under my mirror (also from Ikea), I added the Ekby Alex shelf with drawers for a vanity!

I couldn’t write this post without giving extensive credit to my boyfriend for putting together the shelf from Ikea. Below you’ll see the beginning steps to putting everything together and mounting it on the wall!

img_20170115_172608

The shelf is 46″ wide and has a depth of 11″. The size is perfect for a couple storage units, a candle, and some lotions/perfumes for display.

The drawers are of a decent size, as I was most excited for the convenience of mounted drawers. You can see below that they hold a decent amount, and will aid in the efforts to keep the top of the shelf organized.

img_20170115_172420

I also added a power strip underneath my vanity so that I could plug in my tv as well as my curling iron and hair straightener. I used two command strips to secure the power strip underneath the shelf and it hasn’t budged yet.

img_20170115_172513

So that’s it for this vanity feature! I hope you were inspired to create your own or use some of the organizational hacks above. Let me know in the comments below if you have other ideas or questions about how I put this vanity together.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

img_20170115_172353

4 thoughts on “Fancy Friday: Building a Vanity

Leave a Reply

