Facial Friday: My Skincare Routine!

“Let’s get into the routine which has become my daily grind.”

img_20170216_200203

I have been meaning to do this post for awhile! Although, I wanted to tweak my routine before I got started. Prior to last year, I literally only used Cetaphil cleanser to wash my face. No face masks, no exfoliator, no handheld face massager, nothing. Just some plain old SOAP. And don’t get me wrong, that’s perfect for some people, but my skin needed help. So now I have a very different regimen, as I have become very serious about improving the texture and oiliness of my skin.

Quick breakdown: I have very oily skin, and it’s hard to keep it matte by noon. I typically don’t powder throughout the day because, well, honestly I don’t care what I look like at work. However, if I’m meeting up with the bf or going out after work, I certainly have to touch up so I don’t look like a shiny mess. Other than that, I don’t particularly have bad skin, but I definitely have problem areas (my chin and under my jawline).

To start: I cleanse. This is where I use my Solo Mio (full review here), which has quickly become my holy grail device. I will apply my Philosophy Purity facial cleanser to my face as I normally would, massaging it into the skin for a few seconds. Then I go in with my Solo Mio and cleanse my face for approximately a minute (focusing on each zone of my face for about 15 seconds).
*note: I do this twice daily, once in the morning and then again at night. Jaclyn Hill mentioned once in a skincare video that it is just as important to wash your skin when you wake up, as you release toxins and sweat while you sleep.

img_20170216_195958

Next: exfoliate. I have been using and loving the Aveeno Daily Brightening Scrub which works wonders for shedding dead skin and dirt, as well as cleaning out my pores. I have to mention as well that this exfoliator is the best-smelling face product I have ever used! I massage this onto the face with my hands only so it is not too harsh on my skin.
*note: I do consider washing my face with the Solo Mio as a mild exfoliator, so I only use the Aveeno scrub every other night (and also nights when I apply face masks).

img_20170216_200011

Lastly: moisturize.
– at night, I will follow my exfoliator with my Tarte Maracuja Oil (full review here), and I swear by this product now. A combination of my recent skincare routine and adding this face oil at night has completely transformed the texture of my skin and I have noticed the biggest difference. My skin has become so much easier to work with as far as makeup application is concerned.
– in the morning, I will follow my Philosophy face wash with a basic moisturizer from CVS, the Ultra Calming Daily Moisturizer (good dupe for the Aveeno ultra calming daily moisturizer).

img_20170216_200028

So that’s my daily skincare routine! I was considering including my face mask regimen here as well, but then figured I could dedicate an entire post to that. Let me know in the comments below if you found this helpful and use similar products! Is there anything I’m missing or should check out? As always, I’m open for discussion.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Connect with me!
Instagram: ksloves
Twitter: ksloves_
Pinterest: ksloves_

10 thoughts on “Facial Friday: My Skincare Routine!

  1. lifeloveluminous says:

    Instead of washing and exfoliating that often, you should consider finding a multi-functional product or exfoliating less often. Stripping away too much from your skin can actually cause it to produce even more oil! I had a friend who had the same issues you do with her skin becoming oily throughout the day, and after changing her skincare regimen she got it completely under control and rarely has to wear powder anymore 🙂 Other than that I love that you use a facial oil – they’re the best! I’m glad you found one that works for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

