Magical Makeup Monday: March IPSY Review

“Depending on how you look at this bag, the glass if half full vs half empty.”

IMG_20170326_205140

Hey friends! This month’s bag had a decent variety of products inside. We have some makeup and some skincare, as well as a hair conditioning treatment! If you’re interested in learning what Ipsy is all about, I’ve linked their website here.

IMG_20170326_210008

Full size retails for $79.00.

I’m going to start with my favorite product, and this may come as no surprise: the Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Age Defying Exfoliator. This is the most gentle exfoliant I have ever used. EVER. It actually comes out as a cream, but has the tiniest “gritty” feeling (for lack of better wording). The grainy-ness of this product is so gentle and it feels amazing when applied to the face. Once I rinsed this off, my skin felt squeaky clean and instantly softer as if I had moisturized at the same time!

I know the full-size is incredibly pricey, but I may be considering it should it prove its worth in the long run.

My second favorite product was the deep repair hair conditioning treatment by Marc Anthony. This treatment contains aloe, jasmine, and sea kelp to help detangle and strengthen your hair throughout a 3-7 minute time span. I’ve used this twice and haven’t necessarily noticed a huge improvement, but you can’t beat the scent. This leaves my hair smelling fresh and easy to run my brush through.

IMG_20170326_210021

A sample packet retails for $2.99.

Next on the list is the Tarteist Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint in Vibin. I have mixed feelings about this product. It could just be the shade, but I’m not sure. The color isn’t my favorite, it’s a deep red with brownish hints to it. It seemed to apply just a tad streaky, and took a couple swipes to become opaque. I will say this: it doesn’t budge. You will need a certified liquid lip remover to get this off.
This retails for $20.00.

Next is the mPrincess pressed eyeshadow in the shade Chestnut. Gotta be honest here, I’m typically underwhelmed with this brand. Furthermore, I could carry on with Ipsy bags without this brand. I just don’t feel they offer anything better than their competition. I am never overly impressed or feel the urge to reach for their shadows. Personally, I feel that they lack pigment and blendability.
This retails for $15.45.

Lastly is the Beau Gachis Tapered Blending Brush. This brand is low-key and doesn’t disappoint! I have loved every brush I’ve received of theirs from Ipsy and will continue to use them. Since this one is a longer brush, it’s a little more “flimsy” so I have to work it a little for blending in the crease. Overall, solid brand with dependable brushes.

IMG_20170326_210039

This retails for $12.00.

So that’s this month’s Ipsy bag! Have you found anything worth purchasing later on? Did you receive any of the same products I did? Please share your thoughts in the comments below! I’m always interested to see what others thought/received.

Don’t forget to review and rate your Ipsy products as a way to earn points towards choosing a FREE BONUS item in your next bag!

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Connect with me!
Instagram: ksloves
Twitter: ksloves_
Pinterest: ksloves_

Leave a Reply

