Blue Apron Meal: Katsu-Style Catfish

 

“The meal was made for two people, but I ate both portions.”

IMG_20170404_183310.jpg

Here is a delicious dish for all of my catfish-loving subbies! This was my first time breading like, anything, and I think I did a pretty fabulous job. The catfish came out nice and crispy, but not too greasy. The side of rice paired nicely with the fish, and the cabbage slaw was a new eat for me! I’m not super picky when it comes to food, so I’ll be the first to congratulate a new side I took a liking to.

I had a blast making this dish – and did so all by myself! The other two Blue Apron meals I had help with. If you’re interested in my thoughts on the chicken meatballs recipe and the pesto pasta, feel free to check those out too.

This dish is fun because it surprises your taste buds.

IMG_20170404_175756
You start by marinating the cabbage slaw using olive oil, sweet chili sauce, and seasoning with a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Set this to the side while you prepare the remainder of your dish.

Next is the black garlic mayonnaise, which is right up my alley.

IMG_20170404_180003

Then you can bring a pot of water to boil and let the rice cook for roughly 10 minutes.

IMG_20170404_182043

Next we’re going to bread the catfish! My favorite part. All in separate bowls, you’ll need to beat the egg, prepare the flour, and lay out the breadcrumbs. You’ll want to dry off your raw fish with a paper towel or two, making sure to soak up all excess moisture. Moving on, coat each side of the fish with egg, flour, and then breadcrumbs. Toss in a pan with olive oil over medium heat and fry each side 3-4 minutes, until golden.

Plate up your dinner and chow down! This was one of my favorites after receiving three meals, and it was super easy to make. I enjoyed the process, and enjoyed eating it that much more.

I’ll put the recipe cards below so you can check out the recipe for yourself if you’d like! Alternatively, you can find it here online.

Xoxo,
KS red lips isolated in white

Connect with me!
Instagram: ksloves
Twitter: ksloves_
Pinterest: ksloves_

Leave a Reply

